BRRR… Winter Chic Trends

Hola,

What’s the haps my darlings? LOL, a friend of mine used to always say that and it always tickled me… So how is “winter” treating everyone? If you live in New York City, we really have nothing to complain about because the weather is pretty freakin’ awesome and by the looks of it, it’s going to continue so YAY! πŸ™‚

Did everyone read my last two posts? They were both beauty related and pretty damn cool if I say so myself. If you haven’t, go have a look. The “Matte About My Mani” post gives you step by step instructions on how to do your own matte manicure (photo is included). The post titled “My Experience With Coconut Oil and Argan Oil” is pretty much a positive review on how using both for the past ten months has been for me. I recommend both. Check out the posts after you read this one and let me know what you think.

Now then, I figured I should at least talk about fashion at some point during this comeback so this it. As is usual, I wanted to let you all know my picks for what’s “trending” this winter or better yet, what MY favorite choices are for the season. If you know me personally or you may have picked something up reading my posts, you’ll know that fall and winter are my favorite seasons because I think the clothes are just fabulous. I mean cozy sweaters, lovely scarfs, BOOTS! ;), sweater dresses, pretty hats, adorable boot socks, did I mention BOOTS?! πŸ˜‰ … the list can go on. So I’ve browsed the fashion sites to pick what my favorite trends are and I hope you like my choices. Let’s do this my loves. πŸ™‚

WINTER FAVORITES

COZY, CHUNKY SWEATERS

08-nyfw-chunky-knits-w724

As I mentioned earlier, sweaters are one of the reasons I love winter especially when they’re chunky like the above. This style just gives you an all-around warm, cozy feeling and they’re so comfortable. On those cold winter days pair one with a pencil skirt or a slim pant/jeans. Keep the bottom slim to complement the bulkiness of the sweater.

*from left to right: Banana Republic, Altuzarra, Brock Collection

 

CAR WASH SKIRT

wearable-trends-carwash-skirt-w724

CUTENESS! You may be wondering why they call this the “car wash skirt.” Well if you’ve ever been through a car wash (so much fun!), this should remind you of the top brushes in the car wash. This skirt is super cute and flirty yet sexy and classy. It also gives that “fringe” feeling that’s been trending this year. Pair the skirt with a blouse or statement top, tucked in or not. The car wash dress is also truly lovely, paired with sexy heels or even boots, makes for a wonderful night on the town. I plan to get myself one because you never when the occasion will call for this great look. You can wear these with knee high boots, booties, heels, etc. etc. etc… There’s really no limit. Have fun with this skirt and show your sexiness! πŸ˜‰

*from left to right: Christian Dior, J. Crew, Oscar de la Renta

 

BROWNS

07-nyfw-brown-w724

I’ve always been a fan of the color if only because it’s a neutral tone and I like to pair it with unlikely colors. There are different, pretty shades of brown that do not give off that drab feeling. Pick one that fits and pair with bold colors like orange, maroon and even yellow. Try it, you’ll see it works.

*from left to right: Derek Lam, Isa Arfen, Jenn Packham

 

TURTLENECKS

14-nyfw-turtlenecks-w724

I adore turtlenecks because they can give you such a classy look. They look great with a dress pant and even jeans. This year however, the designers layered them under cute dresses as shown above. I also love chunky turtleneck sweaters because they’re the signature piece of warm and fuzzy feelings. Either way, this is a classic staple in anyone’s closet so go out and pick one or two or three. πŸ™‚

*from left to right: Alice & Olivia, Elizabeth & James, Thakoon

 

THE ’70s ARE BACK

03-nyfw-70s-w724

While I’m not a fan of bell bottoms, I do like the moderate flared pant, the sweaters and I love the boho chic look that the ’70s were known for. These dresses are so cute, fun and flirty. Pair any ’70s style (flared pant, boho chic dress) with boots or a chunky heeled bootie and you’re good to go.

*from left to right: Karen Walker, Rebecca Taylor, Tracy Reese

 

FAUX-FUR STOLE (SHAWL)

01-nyfw-faux-fur-w724

Faux is the key word here as no animals are hurt in the process. Faux-fur shawls are so pretty and give you that ladylike feeling. I have one in black that my old boss gave me for Christmas and I cherish it. I wear it under a dress coat to go out to dinner or over a sexy dress around my shoulders like a shrug, and I just feel like walking taller, sexier and waving at everybody, LOL. They also keep you warm on a blustery, cold day. Even though they’re faux-fur, they might be a bit expensive so check for a good sale.

*from left to right: 3.1 Philip Lim, Prabal Gurung, Jason Wu

 

LONG-LINE BLAZERS

10-nyfw-blazers-w724

Longer than your usual blazer, these add a bit of splash to your outfit. Layer over dress pants, jeans, short/long skirt… Anything goes. I like to experiment to see what works for me and you should too. I’m going to purchase one for the winter because I’m definitely feelin’ this look. πŸ˜‰

*from left to right: J. Crew, Creatures of Comfort, Polo Ralph Lauren

 

ALL BLACK EVERYTHING

09-nyfw-all-black-everything-w724

Yessss! I LOVE this look and I’ve actually been doing the “all black everything” deal quite a lot these past few weeks. Apart from being easier in the mornings, I think it’s just elegant and sexy and dangerous all in one. Plus let’s not forget that it adds the slimming effect if that’s what you’re aiming for. You win either way. Mix different textures to make it a fun and alluring look.

*from left to right: Dion Lee, Alexander Wang, Vera Wang

 

WINTER “CREAM”

13-nyfw-wintercream-w724

This is a switch from the usual winter “white.” It’s kind of a more relaxed version, a bit sweeter. I have a coat which I hardly wear because I don’t want to get it dirty, but I’m busting it out this winter especially when I wear “all black everything” to give that look a bit of twist on the outside. The creamy color is great as a coat, dress, skirt and even a pant. You can mix hues of the shade or add a pop of color.

*from left to right: Peter Pilotto, Mulberry, Ralph Lauren

 

FUN, TEXTURED HOSIERY

11-nyfw-hosiery-w724

I’m down with these 100%. Last year I had a great pair that I bought at Express (my favorite store) and I almost cried when I accidentally ripped them. I’ve checked Express for the same pair this season and nada… #sadness. Anyways, these textured tights add flair to your dresses and skirts and look great peeking out of your boots. Go with black or color, whatever you like and work it girl!

*from left to right: Proenza Schouler, Tommy Hilfiger, Rodarte

 

STATEMENT EARRINGS

04-nyfw-statement-earrings-w724

Ayyeee! I love, love accessories and earrings are at the top of my list. I can’t ever leave the house without them because I feel like something is missing. These statement earrings are fabulous though. Just make sure to keep the earring as the center piece. I’d go without a necklace and let the earring stand alone. Also, make sure they’re not heavy on the lobes because “ouchies!”

*from left to right: Rosie Assoulin, Isa Arfen, Tibi

**Photo Credit: All images by Indigitalimages.com

 

…The End…

 

And there you have it my lovelies. I plan to incorporate these to my winter chic wardrobe, budget permitting that is. Don’t forget about the BOOTS! My eternal loves that I cannot get enough of. Just the other day I got a pair of black suede, wedge boots and I am in amor. Whatever you decide to go with, high-heeled, riding boots, booties, wedges, cowboy and yes, even Uggs! Boots are a must for any winter season and they go perfectly with any of these trends (minus the Uggs, wear those on a casual day with jeans) otherwise, go on and rock those boots.

What are your thoughts? Will you try any of these trends or have you done so already. If you have, I’d love to see your photos of how you styled your look from head to toe so please feel free to post them.

Stay tuned for my next post which will focus on what’s trending for the men in our lives this winter. I’ve been asked by several gentlemen to post something for them, and I’m finally going to oblige. After all, men want to look good too so keep a look out fellas. It should be a fun post. πŸ˜‰

So you guys know the drill… comment below and share your opinions, likes and dislikes or share a photo. I would love to get a glimpse of what everyone is wearing this winter. What are your favorite pieces and must-haves for the cold weather? Let’s discuss, let’s share with one another and keep each other looking fabulous, sexy and beautiful. I look forward to your feedback. Let’s chat. Go! #engage

Gracias,

AnnaCris ❀

8 thoughts on “BRRR… Winter Chic Trends

  1. I love love looove all of the trends. Sadly, I don’t get to enjoy about 95% of them being here in Florida 😦

    Boy do I miss those NYC winters… I know it sounds crazy.. I am sure you can guess why. Because of the fashion!!!!!

    Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kary! And thank you for reading and commenting darling. Yes, I think the reason I don’t leave NY is because I need fall and winter in my life. I couldn’t imagine not being able to wear boots, sweaters and all the fabulous fashion of these seasons. πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Thank you honey bun! You already know about my love affair with boots so you have my heart :). Cozy sweaters are the perfect match for those boots. Go for it and I wanna see… πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I cannot wait for your next blog on men’s fashion!!! I really enjoyed your article on coconut and argan oil and it really has helped me. I am really relying on you to come up with some nice looks that I can wear when I am out on the town.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy the coconut oil is helping. It really does wonders. I’m carefully doing my research for the men’s post since it will be the first time ever I blog about men’s fashion. Should be fun though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

