Five Favorite Styles… Winter Coats!

Hola,

How are my lovelies doing? I hope that life is treating all of you well. I’m doing okay except for that feeling of exhaustion that just refuses to go away. I’ve also been feeling a lil bummed over an adventure that I thought would come through but has not. However, I cannot let any of this beat me so here I am pushing through because I honestly love doing this. It truly brings me joy. 🙂

So… did everyone catch my last post “To End or Mend?” I know, I know it was a bit off course, but I like to add something different every once in a while. Basically, it was me wondering how it can be so easy for someone to just walk away from any type of relationship (friend, family, lover) without any type of communication or yes, confrontation if there was an issue that could have been corrected. How people would rather leave things be than talk things out, solve the problem and make the relationship stronger if that is possible. I know sometimes it’s not but if it is, wouldn’t you want to save said relationship? Anyways, if you haven’t checked out the post, please do so after reading this one and add your two cents. 😉

Alrighty then, let’s get to the less heavy stuff shall we? I figured I’d continue with the winter theme and decided to focus on winter coats. There are several different styles of coats so rather than “tell” you what to wear, I thought I’d share with you the five styles that are my favorites for these cold, winter months. So without further fanfare, let’s begin:

MY FAVORITE WINTER COATS

THE PEA COAT

9c4820b6815e7b35b36aa7f737ab1692

This is definitely a top favorite of mine. The pea coat is known for being short in length, made of heavy wool, double-breasted, with large buttons, vertical pockets and the classic color is navy blue. Nowadays, the pea coat can be found in a variety of colors and with slight alterations to the classic style. For example I have a gray coat by Calvin Klein that is double-breasted but also comes with a belt that you can tie in front for a more fitted look.

The pea coat can be worn with just about anything and for any occasion. I love to wear mine with fitted slacks/jeans or a dress/skirt, with a knee high boot or booties and accessorize with a pair of leather gloves and a pretty, colorful scarf.

* The above coat is by Victoria’s Secret.

THE DOUBLE-BREASTED COAT

c4971c569ff527c880aa90e27c9afbf2

How adorable is this coat by Lily & Co.? This is definitely my definition of a “pop” of color and not to mention that yellow IS my favorite. 😉 #MustGetThisCoat

The double-breasted coat has two columns of buttons instead of one column. One column of buttons is usually for decoration while the other is functional. It usually has wide, overlapping front flaps and has a classy and elegant look. This coat is longer in length than the pea coat so it’s great for those of us that love to wear skirts or dresses in the winter.

As I said, this coat is classy and elegant so it’s great for a night out and for work if you have to dress the part. I have a “winter white” coat by Victoria’s Secret that I love and I don’t usually wear unless I’m going out to a fancy shindig because I don’t want to get it dirty. You can also accessorize this coat with a pair of fancy leather gloves and pretty scarf peeking out from inside.

THE WRAP COAT

26f25d9d0a2b5d8a669393afe3273bf3

I think this cashmere wrap coat by Donna Karan New York is so lovely. The color is just fabulous. I wouldn’t mind owning this one either.

The wrap coat is like a bathrobe basically. It comes in a variety of lengths so you can choose what works for you. I love both long and short lengths depending on what I’m wearing. They are effortless since they have no buttons just a tie belt. Don’t panic though, this coat can still keep you super warm during those cold winter days. They are made of heavy wool so do not fret. Plus, aside from layering and accessorizing, just remember to tie the belt tightly, but fashionably around your waist.

THE COCOON COAT

 

b8e129d0b840d9254c5930035020afc0

Tell me the color of the above coat by Jil Sander isn’t just charming… I’m not even a “pink” person but I would definitely rock this coat.

The cocoon coat is one of the most versatile styles because it’s so roomy. This coat is perfect for every body type, it has room for layering (I LOVE to layer during the winter), and it’s perfect for any occasion whether it’s a dressy day or a casual one. Also, this style also comes in a variety of lengths so choose your preference. Wear with heels, flats or even a nice pair of sneakers. Of course, do not forget to accessorize.

THE PUFFER JACKET/COAT

6daf0b6f931e0218875bc02df0d4040d

My new love… I purchased this Sherpa Lined Puffer Jacket by Hollister last week and I am so in <3!! I wanted a change in my casual jackets and this is perfect. Not only was the jacket on sale, but it’s got Sherpa lining throughout the body. Even the hood is Sherpa lined so needless to say that it keeps me super warm and cozy.

The puffer coat/jacket is perfect for those freezing winter days. The puffy sections are filled with down insulation or synthetic fibers to provide much warmth. Another plus is that this jacket/coat is lightweight. The above puffer is so light and soft so it’s like I’m not wearing a jacket at all. This style is a bit on the fitted side so if you like to layer up like I do, get one size larger than your normal size for extra room.

Needless to say the puffer is the most casual of the five styles. However, this jacket/coat also comes in a variety of lengths so you can also dress up and wear the longer length. You can spice it up with a scarf and gloves and you’re good to go.

** All photos in this post were found on Pinterest.

…THE END…

So there you have it my darlings. These are my top five favorite styles of winter coats. This is not to say that I’m not into other styles as well. I mean, the military coat is pretty cool and the top coat also falls in the elegant category. It’s just a matter of taste which is why I chose to showcase my favorites rather than impose on you what you should wear. We’re all different in many aspects so like I always say, go with what works best for you.

Okay then, you all know the drill… Comment below and let me know your thoughts. I would love to hear what your favorite styles are and why. Do you prefer the more elegant look or is casual your go to style for warmth and comfort? How do you accessorize your outerwear? How many different coats do you own? LOL, now THAT is the question. I’m sure all my fashionistas own several. In any case, let’s discuss. Y’all know I love to converse so let’s do this. Share your opinions and if you have photos that you’d like to share, please feel free to do so below. Tell me about your favorite winter coat styles. I look forward to your feedback. Let’s chat. Go! #engage

Gracias,

AnnaCris ❤

14 thoughts on “Five Favorite Styles… Winter Coats!

    1. Thank you for stopping by. Yes! I love each of these pics and that DK wrap coat is just everything. I’m tempting to see if it’s still available. May be cheap in price if it’s been out for a year or two. I am with you, the pea coat is always my go to. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have a grey pea coat now I want a black one. I have a long double breasted one but that one in your post is just so cute. I think the only thing I can afford from DKNY is underwear. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. LOL, you and me both. The one in my post is by Victoria’s Secret but unfortunately, they’ve stopped selling coats and I hear they’re going to stop selling clothing altogether. I’m not sure if that’s true, but I’ll be sad if they do. They had a lot of cute things online.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

