A Glorious DIY Pedicure…

 

Hola,

 

How are my darlings doing? I’m hoping everyone is doing superb. I am doing great. After weeks of unexplained exhaustion, my docs finally figured out the culprit/s and I am back to feeling better and energetic. Plus the awful cold that caught me last week is gone. Thank the good lord because I have lots of shit to do. I mean I’m on my way to building my empire and I can’t stop now. 😉

Since we’re all doing fabulous, did everyone have a chance to read my last two posts? I mention my last two because it’s been twenty days since I’ve last published anything so y’all had ample time to catch up :). My second to last was called “Oh Summer… What’s Trending” and it was dedicated to the ladies. It featured tons of cute stuff that are “IN” this season and as I mentioned throughout, I am going to try a bunch of them. The last post is called “Summer Trends for the Gents” and of course, that one was dedicated to the fellas. I have to say it was a bit hard finding anything to suggest because the men don’t have much options. However, I think y’all can make the styles work for you if you’d like to. When you’re done reading this, go on over and check those out if you haven’t already and let me know what you think.

So obvi, the title of this post gives away today’s topic. Since sandal and beach season are in effect, I’m going to share with you my “at home” pedicure secrets.  LOL well, not so much secrets but great info if you’re looking to save on expensive pedicures. I’ve done my own nails since like forever and I’ve gotten pretty damn good at it. The compliments I get range from “fabulous” to “you do a better job than the nail salon chicks” so I MUST be doing something right. This is not to say that I never pamper myself and splurge on a nail salon pedi. I do once in a while, but the end result is never satisfying with the exception of the wonderful foot massage that lasts about a minute. 🙂 So if you can go without the massage, this seven step routine is for you and will leave your footsies soft as butter. Trust me… Here we go:

 

AT HOME DIY PEDICURE

 

The steps are pretty much the same as any nail technician would do except that I take my time and I go all in:

 

STEP ONE – CUT AND FILE NAILS

 

 

 

 

Use a nail clipper to cut your nails. I prefer my toenails to be short and square. I feel like they look so much daintier that way. Follow by filing and smoothing the nails. You can also file the top of the nails if they’re rough or have ridges to smoothen them. I like the metal nail files as they last longer and you don’t have to file so much.

 

STEP TWO – REMOVE EXCESS SKIN AROUND THE NAILS/HANG NAILS

 

 

s1605096-main-zoom

 

With a cuticle cutter, I go around the nail and remove any excess or rough skin including hang nails if any. I go all in during this step because I like the nails to look super clean. Never cut your cuticles though. They’re there to protect the nail bed. Be careful with super pointy cutters as cutting/digging too much can cause bleeding. I purchased my cuticle cutter at Sephora.

 

STEP THREE – GLORIOUS FOOT SOAK

 

 

 

 

This is by far, the BEST part of this pedicure. Now is your time to sit back and relax and let the above products do their magic. If you have a foot spa tub or a basin, fill it with hot water, as hot as you can take it. Add half a cup of epsom salt and baking soda as well as 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar.

Note: When you add the apple cider vinegar, the water will fizz a little bit. Don’t fret about this, it’s just the reaction of the mixture.

This mixture is wonderful. Not only will the entire mixture soften your feet, but the epsom salt will relax and soothe them. If your feet are achy or in my case, I’ve sprained both my ankles and still have muscle aches at times so the salts relieve any pain. The baking soda combined with the apple cider vinegar will remove excess skin from the soles of your feet and around your heels, and is the ingredient that takes the credit for making your feet soft as butter. The apple cider vinegar will also loosen rough cuticles and makes it easy to remove any remaining rough skin. Plus if you have any cuts, the vinegar will heal them quicker. It may sting a bit but it will help.

Now soak your feet in this heaven for about 20 minutes or until the water turns tepid. Close your eyes, sit back, read a book and/or listen to music. Do anything that relaxes you. 🙂

Note II: Do not throw out the mixture once you’re done as you’ll need it again in the next step.

AHHH…. JUST RELAX NOW…. CHILL FOR A WHILE… THINK HAPPY THOUGHTS… 🙂

 

2ec8155a72425c90d542a1f996051b7b

 

How did those twenty minutes feel? Good huh? That soak is pretty freakin’ awesome and if you try this, PLEASE come back and let me know your results.

 

 

STEP FOUR – APPLY CUTICLE REMOVER AND PUSH BACK CUTICLES

 

 

 

The next step is to apply cuticle remover and push back your cuticles. The soak would have softened them up so it should be easy. I love Sally Hansen’s Instant Cuticle Remover. I like to do this step one foot at a time. So apply the remover around all your cuticles to one foot first, wait one minute, gently push back your cuticles (here too I prefer a metal cuticle pusher) and place your foot back in the warm water for a minute so the apple cider vinegar can do more magic to your cuticles. Remove, pat dry and using your cuticle cutter, go around the nail and remove ALL the excess skin that was lifted. You’ll see that it’s a lot sometimes. Repeat this step with the other foot.

 

STEP FIVE – SAY YES TO THE PUMICE STONE

 

 

 

The glorious pampering continues with this step. Go to your bathtub, run warm water and grab your favorite soap or body wash. Grab a pumice stone, lather it up and gently scrub it on the soles of your feet, heels, ankles, the top of your foot and the tops of your toes. With your hand, apply some pressure while massaging your feet in circular motions. Next, use a nail brush to remove any lingering excess skin, rinse your feet with warm water and towel dry.

 

STEP SIX – MOISTURIZE

 

41lIAurwS2L._SY355_

 

The next step is to moisturize. I adore “Stress Relief – Eucalyptus Spearmint” lotion by Bath & Body. One of my best girls (ahem, my love bug) put me on to it and I’ve been hooked ever since. This lotion will leave a tingly feeling on your footsies and they will feel super fabulous. Apply abundantly all over your feet and massage into your soles, heels, and between your toes. I know the massage part doesn’t feel the same as when someone else does it for you, but this lotion will compensate for that just a lil bit. 😉

 

STEP SEVEN – APPLY NAIL COLOR

 

 

 

The last step is to apply your choice of nail color. Once you’ve towel-dried your feet, take a Q-tip and dip it in apple cider vinegar and run it across your nails. This will remove oils and residue from the lotion and will prep them for your color. I prefer using vinegar as opposed to polish remover because the latter will dry your nails. The vinegar will also help your color last longer. Now, insert some cute, girly toe dividers and you’re ready to add color.

If your nails have ridges (I usually do this step on my fingernails so you can skip this step if you don’t need it), prime with a “Ridge Filler” by Essie. I prefer Essie products but it’s your choice. Next Use a base coat. I love Essie’s “Grow Stronger.” Follow with your choice of nail color and last, with a top coat. Again, I adore Essie’s “Good to Go” top coat because not only does it add shine but it dries your color super quickly. I can attest to this. No smudging or anything of the sort.

Note III: Use a toothpick to carefully run around the cuticle edge or around the nail if you get excess color. The Q-tips are great to clean off color from your skin if it gets messy. Wait until your color has set and dried then dip the Q-tip in nail polish remover and swipe carefully.

DASSIT! 🙂 – Your pedicure should look like this:

 

17257f158f05c699294c6dab504b4119

 

Absolutely lovely! 🙂 😉 – I love the above photo (found on Pinterest) because of the colors.

 

…The End…

 

 

Spa towels and orchid

 

There you have it dolls! The seven step glorious at home, DIY pedicure that will leave your feet as soft as butter and as pretty as can be. Will you try it?

I’ve got this routine down and sometimes I modify it if I’m pressed for time. I will skip step three (the glorious soak) and just go on to step four (Push back cuticles) because you can still pamper your feet a lil bit in step five while using the pumice stone. Since I’ve been doing this for so long, the whole process will take me 45 minutes to complete.

Well…. Who is down to give this a try? It’s completely inexpensive and you get great results. If you’re into doing your own pedicures, this is perfect for you. 😉

So y’all know the drill. Comment below and let me know your thoughts. How often do you get pedicures? Are you psyched to try this or do you prefer to visit the nail salon and have someone do your pedis? If you do at-homes, what do you do different? I’m thinking of adding scented oil to my moisturizing step the next time to change things up. I would love it if you would share your pedicure routine in the comments. For me, this is one of the most relaxing things I do whether it’s on a Friday night or during the weekend. Plus, nothing beats being well-groomed and looking pretty especially during the summer months when we mostly wear sandals and spend time at the beach. Alrighty then, please share your thoughts and let’s have some fun conversation. I look forward to your feedback. Let’s chat. Go! #engage

Don’t forget to click on the “widgets” section up top to follow my blog on WordPress or via email and to follow me on social media. Thank You! 🙂

 

Gracias,

AnnaCris ❤

11 thoughts on “A Glorious DIY Pedicure…

  1. Love, love, love!!!! Thank you for writing and sharing your awesome pedi secrets we are all jealous of. 🙂 you got me motivated to give it a shot! 👍🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome dollface. It’s great! Your feet will love it. Let me know how it goes. 🙂 Thank you for visiting and for commenting. I Love it! 😉

      Like

  2. LOVE IT…. As you know, I do my own nails and toes… These tips are very helpful, and I will try them.. I use a pumice stone on a regular basis.. Even in the winter because I can’t stand rough nasty feeling feet.. lol
    Step 6 sounds amazing.. I will have to go buy some of that stuff… ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you babes! I knew you’d like this one and maybe try it because you do your own manis and pedis. Please let me know how you like it if you try. Step 6 is so amazing and smells yummy. I see a lil shopping in your future ;). Thank you for stopping by and for commenting my darling! ❤

      Like

      1. Shopping is indeed, in my future.. 🙂
        You will be the first one to know when I try it… You are so good at these blogs.. All of the ones I have read have been very informative and fun to read… I don’t think I could do it.. My attention span is too short.. 😀
        But I like to read them and will always support you, babes ❤ xo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aww, thank you so much love. This makes me feel great coming from one of my favorite people in the Universe. LOL at your short attention span. I love doing this. It’s a lot of work with writing, finding the right photos and then tweaking it so many times until I feel it’s perfect. The hours are worth it though, and it makes me so happy that my blog has been well received. You are one of my number one supporters. Forever grateful! ❤😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

